It’s Soup Time!!!

I hope you all are keeping warm! Its been pretty decent here the past few days but there is supposed to be a high of 20 with wind and snow on its way this week. NOT cool! Well….at least I don’t have to walk to class anymore! So I think soup has be to be one of my favorite foods of all time. It really packs a lot of nutrients and warms the soul. It makes you feel good physically cause well its WARM and relaxing and mentally because if you pick the right kind, its chock full of nutrients and veggies!!!!! You’ll generally find me eating Campbells Select Harvest Minestrone pictured below) with a cheese stick and an apple.

YUMMM!

BUT every few weeks I decide to whip up my own homemade soup! Friday was one of those days! I had some lentils to use, LOVE lentils! So I decided to make something I call Lentil Stew. I love the steamed Lentils from Trader Joe’s!! They are vacuum packed and unopened last forever. Great to have around to put on salad, in pasta, in sauces, and of course in soup! Does anyone else buy these?

First I chopped up all the carrots ( I used baby carrots, because I have a bunch to use up before break, but you can use regular carrots as well), then I minced the garlic and onions and sauteed them in some olive oil.

Carrots

Sauted Garlic and Onions

I added the lentils and carrots to the onions and garlic. Next came some chicken broth, a splash of balsamic vinegar, oregano, ginger, and some adobo pepper. I let this sit at medium heat for about 10min then tested it. I decided to add some more oregano, some aleppo pepper, and another splash of adobo pepper as well. <– I love this stuff, its peppery/spicy without numbing your taste buds. Then let it sit on the stove at low heat for about another 15 min to blend. I removed from the heat and let it cool, before enjoying a bowl. So here’s the break down…

1-1 1/2 cups cooked lentils

1 small onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves

1/3 cup carrots, chopped

1/2 cup chicken broth (add more if you want it more soup like)

a splash of balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp oregano

2 tsp ginger

1 tsp adobo pepper

1/2 tsp aleppo pepper

a splash of cinnamon

Enjoy! I sure did!!!

Lentil Stew!

Here are a few other yummy things I’ve enjoyed throughout the past few days!

 

My new favorite dinner after a long study day! Scrambled eggs w/ ketchup, roasted brussel sprouts, and toast w/ pumpkin butter!

 

Night time snack! Vanilla greek yogurt w/ pumpkin butter and toffee almonds

My typical breakfast.... 4oz yogurt w/ some fruit. Here is peach yogurt with pomegranate seeds!

Another night time snack.... peanut butter toast w/ heath bits, a banana, and a glass of milk!

I’ve been loading up on protein this week for some reason, but everything has been soooooo yummy, I can’t complain!!!! I loved the pumpkin butter in yogurt paired with the toffee almonds! They are an amazing pair!!!

I also love peanut butter bread, a common snack of mine. Here I spiced it up a bit,  sprinkled with heath bits, I usually like it with mini choco chips,  but this was still super yummy! Its a nice little dessert that is still really good for you! Raisins are a good addition too! Good Luck on finals for those of you who still have them!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

 

How do you like to warm up on a cold day?

3 thoughts on “It’s Soup Time!!!

  1. Cara, I just wanted to say that I love your blog! It has such great ideas and makes my mouth water every time I read it! For me, I love a nice mug of hot cocoa and a yummy grilled cheese.

Leave a Reply

