Recipe Overload!

I am so excited! I have soooooo many recipes to share with you! I was feeling super uncreative last week, but boy let me tell you….. Creativity RE-VAMPED this week! In the past week I have made Cherry pie, whole wheat dark chocolate chip cookies, homemade pizza, scrumptious stir-fry, and an amazing pesto/balsamic encrusted salmon!

Tonight I bring you Pesto encrusted salmon with veggies and to top it all off whole wheat dark chocolate chip cookies! ENJOY!

Best random thrown together meal, EVER!

Pesto Encrusted Salmon

1 salmon filet

1 Tbsp pesto

Splash of aged balsamic vinegar

1 serving Broccoli, steamed

1/4 cup Red bell pepper, chopped

Directions: Heat pan over medium heat. Spray with cooking spray and add salmon filet. Cook until browned on one side (about 3 min) and flip. Cook until other side is browned. While salmon is cooking cut bell pepper, and steam broccoli.

Add small spoonful of pesto, spread over side of salmon and flip. (Step away from the stove, it gets messy!!!) Spread pesto on the other side and let cook a few more min. Flip and let the other side cook/crust. Add a splash of balsamic, bell peppers, and broccoli to pan. Let cook for a few min. Serve salmon over veggies.

-> This would probably be amazing with tuna as well!

Pure Happiness :)

Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from Betty Crocker

Let me start off by saying these are now my ALL TIME FAVORITE! I have many chocolate chip cookies, they are one of my favorite foods and let me tell you…… these are THE BEST!

3 cups whole wheat flour ( I used King Arthur’s)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp milk

2 eggs

2 sticks butter

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 (12 ounce) bag dark chocolate chips ( I used Ghirardelli)

Directions: Cream sugars and butter. Add eggs, milk, baking powder, and baking soda. Mix in Whole Wheat flour. We did all of this with our hands, because I didn’t have a mixer on hand and the batter gets pretty stiff. But a mixer would probably be more professional and proper….. but hey, a girls gotta eat make her cookies.

Quality Ingredients are Key!

Sometimes you just gotta dig in!

 

The anticipation was building!

Perfection!

Do you have off-weeks when it comes to creativity?

What amazing-ness have you made this week?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

6 thoughts on “Recipe Overload!

  1. Pingback: Snippets of the fitnessnfoodie life | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

  2. Pingback: Tex Mex Rice « Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

  3. Hey Cara! Love that you are majoring in nutrition! I have considered going back to school for a degree in nutrition… If you don’t mind me asking.. What kinds of things can you do with that degree?!? :) Love your recipes cant wait to explore!!!

Leave a Reply

