“Excuses”

These days I’m full of excuses to indulge my inner foodie and love for healthy living, or really any excuse to get me out of doing the two term papers and multiple exams looming over my head for the next few weeks. Half way through the semester…. I’m pretty pleased with that!

I used the beautiful, completely unseasonal weather as an excuse to go for a run on a busy morning, as well as an excuse to go for a walk with the boy when I should have been preparing an outline.

Obviously a photo from the summer, because lets be real there is no green here unless you want to count the tiny sprigs of grass trying not to drown in mud from all the snow melting.

I am using Valentine’s Day as an excuse to buy cheap, cute kitchen and decorating items for next year

Major score at Walmart! Table cloth, cookie cutters, and cute heart plate!

And perhaps a little Ghirardelli to indulge my sweet tooth

I’m using a rushed day as an excuse to eat Raspberry Chobani with butter toffee almonds and calling it lunch and then later having a second lunch because yogurt just won’t cut it.

SO pretty and yummy! Yogurt and almonds is a super concoction!

Cinnamon Cheerios and Kashi Blueberry clusters

It is funny how I bought more produce this week then I ever do and seem to have consumed it all faster than I ever do….. so I resort to cereal and yogurt… or an excuse for ANOTHER grocery run of the week to get some strawberries, because well its winter and I need some “summery” foods in my life

To add to my yogurt... with honey on top.

Then there is the fact that it is Friday night, no homework EVER gets done on Friday night. So I like many others decided it was pizza night, a pizza night followed by baking and watching the office on hulu….. What did I bake you ask?

Jess’s Cinnamon Sugar Flatbread Crackers

She posted them this morning and I decided I just had to have them!

He was such a good helper :)

Greatest combination out there!

Team work at its finest. Please ignore and don't be blinded by my extreme paleness

The final product!

I modified her recipe just a little bit….

Cinnamon Sugar Flatbread Crackers

1 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons warm water

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons sugar + 3/4 tablespoon cinnamon for sprinkling

A smear of butter or margarine (to coat top)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine flours, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in a bowl, mix. Add water and olive oil. Mix until dough forms. I used my hands, it was easiest.

Cover a baking sheet with flour and roll the dough as thin as desired with a rolling pin. Brush top of crackers with melted butter or margarine. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture over top and cut with a pizza slicer into desired sized crackers. Bake for 10 minutes, or until golden and crisp. Let cool completely.

I think I’m off to bake more tomorrow… I’m using this weekend to bake, catch up on sleep, and prepare for another VERY busy week!

What “excuses” have you made lately to indulge in your preferred lifestyle?

run, run, run, bake, bake, bake, homework, sleep. I’ve got to stay sane somehow with all this school work, some would beg to differ that I’ve actually remained sane.

Does anyone else use holidays as excuses to buy cute little things on sale?

I couldn’t wait for Feb 15 so I could go buy some heart shaped cookie cutters!

2 thoughts on ““Excuses”

Leave a Reply

