Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

This is obviously going somewhere good….. I mean butter, eggs, sugar, and peanut butter ALWAYS results in a beautiful ending.

I’ve had quite the casual weekend, a little homework here, a little baking there, some hanging out with the boy… its been productive AND relaxing, who knew that existed! I have quite the crazy next two weeks before spring break, why did all of my professors decided to cram a majority of the semesters exams and projects all BEFORE spring break… we do have another 6 weeks of school, right?!

I also had a CRAZY adventure going grocery shopping this weekend…… It was windy, like 35 mph steady with 55 mph gusts every 5 seconds, or so they say.

I had planned to go grocery shopping so by golly I was going, but on my way there I noticed all the traffic lights were out. As I was turning into the shopping center I realized that Giant and Walmart were both without power….. and closed. So I ventured my way to Wegman’s and it was nuts, but there was power! After this little adventure I finally got my shopping done. I am telling you go buy Chobani’s new flavors….. it made the madness absolutely worth it! The Mango and Lemon are AMAZING!

My new favorite: Mango

Anyhow…. all weekend I was hardcore craving  a little comfort food, something tasty. Obviously that always leads me to chocolate or peanut butter, or both in this case. My mom used to make these bars quite often when we were growing up, and I haven’t had them in ages. I also decided it was time to whip something up from my stash of “mom’s recipes”, because that hasn’t happened in a few weeks. Which was probably the cause of my need for something yummy, she really is the best!

We always have fun in the kitchen together

So my journey in wanting to bake these really began around 12:30am last night, but being as I was out of eggs, and I only had a spoonful of peanut butter left. It had to wait until this morning… So you can bet that as soon I was back from my run, I was baking.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars


½ cup butter

¾ cup creamy peanut butter

1 ¾ cup sugar

1 ½ tsp vanilla

4 eggs, slightly beaten

1 ½ cups flour

½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

2 cups chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat oven at 350 degrees

Prepare 13×9 pan with non stick spray

Melt butter. Add peanut butter; stir until melted. Stir in sugar and vanilla. Add eggs and stir with spoon until well blended. Add flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir until blended. Stir in chocolate chips. Spread batter into prepared pan. Bake 35 min or until top is golden brown and edges firm.( it took about 40 minutes in my oven). Cool. Cut into bars, large or small whatever you prefer! I did a little of both :)

Baked to perfection

Perfect study break snack :)

What comfort food do you crave when you’re stressed?

Anything with lots of carbs or that I had often while growing up at home! Cookies, and mac and cheese.

6 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Leave a Reply

