Banana Oatmeal Flax Cookies

 

I have tons of bananas in my freezer just waiting to be baked into something wonderful. I decided to sacrifice a few yesterday in order to make these fabulous cookies! It has been a long week and I still have a paper and an exam remaining for Monday, so obviously cookies are in order. In order to celebrate that the week I’ve been dreading all semester is finally over, and in order to power me through this last little stretch! So I obviously had to make some power packed cookies!

 

 

 

The only thing that might make them better are some dark chocolate chunks, but all I had on hand were some semi-sweet morsels, but chocolate is chocolate right?

 

I had made Christina’s Banana Walnut Chocolate Chip cookies awhile back and LOVED them! So I decided to base these cookies off of her recipe with a few modifications. You see a month or so ago my mom gave me some Flax flour, and I’ve been thinking about what I wanted to do with it for weeks now. So I decided why not, today is the day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sorry for the extreme color difference in my photos, I’m still working on figuring out my new camera, and the weather couldn’t decide whether it wanted to rain or be sunny every 5 min.

 

Banana Oatmeal Flax Cookies

Adapted from Sweet Pea’s Kitchen

 

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 cup flax flour (or whole wheat)

1 teaspoon coarse salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar

1 large egg

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 small- medium mashed ripe banana

1 1/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

8 ounces semisweet morsels

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F degrees.

In the bowl mix bananas, butter, sugars, vanilla, and egg.  Add flours, oats, baking soda, salt and mix until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips. The batter may be a funny color if you use the flax flour, because it is much darker than whole wheat.

Drop dough onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper, spacing about 2 inches apart. Bake in preheated oven until golden brown and just set, 12 to 14 minutes. Let cool on baking sheets on wire rack for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely. Enjoy!

 

I hope you all are having a fabulous weekend! It finally feels like spring here!

 

What are you weekend plans?

Paper writing, studying for an exam, and hopefully a hike tomorrow!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Banana Oatmeal Flax Cookies

Leave a Reply

