Special Chili

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I know I did!

It was one of the first weekends in a long time that I woke up Saturday morning and realized I had absolutely NOTHING planned or that I had to do! Which was probably a good thing since I woke up to nearly 6 inches of snow on the ground and wanted nothing to do with it. I decided that it  was the perfect day to spend alll day long in the kitchen, so I did just that!

I  text the boy and told him that I really wanted to bum it with him all day and he needed to come over and bake/cook with me. He said he really wanted some chili, so I delivered. Some very special chili! No… there isn’t any secret ingredient. The chili that we made on Saturday was produced from almost everything homemade.

Beautiful Colors!

 

We used ground venison from a deer, hunted by the boy.

The turkey stock we used for the broth was made from the carcass of a Turkey, that was hunted by the boy.

The tomatoes  used were grown and canned by my aunt and I this summer

And the corn that was used was from the Amish farmers market in town that we had frozen…..

Which left canned beans and canned roasted peppers as being the only things that were bought at the store :)

Okay… call me old fashioned ;)

 

The ingredients

 

Chop, Chop, Chop

 

Cooking the venison

 

Adding some spice... and Italian olive oil ;)

 

Let simmer…. and you’ve got some homemade chili!

The day didn't stop there!

 

Obviously, it got better :)

 

This boy and I sipped some Hot Chocolate while the chili was cooking on the stove and I pondered the next project which turned out to be Banana bread AND Oatmeal Cranberry Chocolate chip cookies, a recipe for another day!

Saturday evening ended with a “family” game night

We brought out the Apples to Apples!

And for a little humor, for one of the blank green cards the person selected my fiance as the “thing” to describe…. here are the cards that were put down.

Yep.... he's a charmer :)

I hope all had just as a relaxing weekend as I did and a WONDERFUL start to your week!!! Until next time….. let the drooling begin!

2 thoughts on “Special Chili

  1. Pingback: It’s time for WIAW! | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

