Chili and Baked Apples

Turkey Chili

So here is the Turkey Chili I made a week ago. It was AMAZING! I literally just threw a bunch of stuff in a pot and it turned out GREAT! Here is has some shredded cheese on top. I also ate it with low-fat sour cream on top. And one night for dinner I had it on top of a baked potato! SOOOO Yummy! Even my red meat loving bf LOVED it! I will absolutely make this again!

1 pack ground turkey (about 1 lb)

1 medium vadalia onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 jar roasted peppers

1 can kidney beans

1 can black beans

1 can corn (I didn’t use all of it, I’m not a HUGE corn fan unless its on the cob)

About 4 cups chicken broth (add more or less depending on how soup-like you want it)

2 1/2 TBS tomato paste

1/2 packet of low-sodium chili seasoning

Oregano (to taste)

Red pepper flakes (to taste)

 

Instructions:

– first I cooked the turkey with a little chili seasoning in a medium sized saute pan. Then put it aside in a larger pot. I quickly sauteed the onion and garlic and added that to the pot with the turkey. I turned the burner on medium and added the chicken broth. I sliced the peppers and added those to the pot. Then I added all the canned goods to the pot as well. Mixed it all together and let it on med heat for about 10 min. Lastly I added the spices and tomato paste, and left it on low-med heat for about 30 min, to blend the flavors. (it probably does not need to sit this long, if you are in a hurry) Adjust texture by adding more broth and season to taste. ENJOY!!!

Last night I was feeling like a little dessert, but I didn’t want anything too heavy so I decided to whip up some BAKED APPLES!

I stuffed mine with Raisins and Almonds (recipe below)

 

Baked Apples (pre-baking)

Baked Apples

Preheat oven to 450

Core desired number of apples

Used non-stick spray in a baking dish

Mixed up some raisins, sliced almonds (you can use any nut), a bit of brown sugar, white sugar, and cinnamon in a bowl. Then added it to the middle of the apples. Then topped with oats.

These were in the oven for about 10min, basically cook until top is crispy.

**You can even add some vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt, which would be my pick if I had some! ENJOY!

 

Sorry for the quick post, but I wanted to get those recipes and pictures to you! I hope you enjoy!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

4 thoughts on “Chili and Baked Apples

  1. Pingback: Lost Camera and Note-worthy eats! | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

