Running, Cold, and New food adventures

Brrrrr!! The mercury sure has dropped in the past week! It went from a steady 50 degrees to a steady 30 degrees and flurrying. Which has pretty much been the weather all week. Its taken a bit getting used to, and I’m not sure how I’ll be able to stand the colder weather in a few months. Despite the weather I have continued to run, which has also taken some getting used to in the cold. One thing I have found in the past few weeks is that I feel so much better running when I actually give my body a break! All summer and most of the fall I’ve been running 5-7 miles most days of the week, but a few weeks ago I just felt horrible on my runs for about a week straight. SO I decided it was time to take a few days off….. if you know me, not running is pretty uncharacteristic. After taking a few days off I decided that I need to scale down my running or its going to become a chore, and I’m not going to feel well on my runs. So for the past few weeks I’ve been taking some shorter runs mixed in with my longer runs, and doing more strength training, and honestly I’m running 10x better! So if you’ve had some stinky runs lately, take it easy on yourself and give your body some rest!

This weekend has been a relaxing one….. Although it should have been a working weekend with the last week of classes and finals approaching, but I needed a break after last week. So this weekend I tackled a few things in the kitchen that were new to me. I cut open a pomegranate, a cantaloupe, and a mango.

These are sooooo messy to cut open. I got it all over the kitchen, and even on my shirt!

But they are soooooo pretty!

I’ve been eating them like crazy, by the spoonful, in yogurt, cereal, you name it! AMAZING on Kashi Blueberry cluster cereal, its blueberry and pomegranate can you so SUPERFOOD!

Sooo yummy! I had two bowls yesterday!

Over all it was a great weekend! Andrew and I watched Elf Friday night, what a great movie! We also made some chili and tropical fruit salad which was fun and yummy! Today, church was an AWESOME message about how as Americans we live in such a materialized society, and that is not at allllll what Christmas is about. Lets focus on what Christ being born REALLY means! HE came to die for OUR sins…. How incredible is that!  Something I heard the other day really struck me, maybe it will help you remember “the reason for the season” <– I always think that is kind of a cheesy saying, but absolutely necessary in our commercialized world.  We must give THANKS(giving) and be humbed in order to prepare for the birth of CHRIST(mas) to have a NEW (Years) life in Christ.

 

What is your favorite holiday movie?

Have you had any new adventures in the kitchen lately?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

Leave a Reply

