Almost a White Christmas

I hope you all had a WONDERFUL Christmas eve and day! I have been super busy these past few days but it has sure been delightful! The snow is piling up. We are expecting 8-12 inches! CRAZY! It was almost a white Christmas! Glad that it held off so family could come and go for the holiday safely.

I had a really nice Christmas! Christmas eve was spent with my boyfriend’s family for dinner and church then I came home to snack on some delicious cheese and crackers while watching White Christmas by the fire with my family. As usual I fell asleep. I sleep through almost every movie, no matter what time of day. It’s kind of funny when people ask if I’ve seen a movie before. If I didn’t see it in the theater it generally begins with I did….. but I fell asleep.

Christmas morning began with opening stockings in my parents room as usual, then we all headed downstairs to see what was under the tree. The morning started with some fresh citrus, pumpkin bread, and some coffee!

Coffee and fruit!

Momma's famous pumpkin bread!

 

I got some GREAT kitchen items! Now I just have to wait until I have a bigger kitchen at school to actually use them, but it will be fun to experiment while I’m home!

Mini food processor!

Mini Keurig

Apron, oven mits, lemon juicer, and a covered muffin pa

 

As usual all the family came to my house for the big meal on Christmas day, so we immediately began running around prepping and cleaning for everyone’s arrival. All the food turned out wonderful! Some appetizers included

Cranberry Goat cheese with crackers

Shrimp

Mozzarella Cheese Braid

We also had crab dip, brie, and a mixed selection of olives. It was hard not to eat a ton before dinner!!!!!

Dinner was also AMAZING, everything turned out fabulous!

My plate included, whole grain roll, lobster tail, two types salad, smashed potatoes w/ herbed goat cheese, roasted brussel sprouts and turnips, and sauteed mushrooms!

Roasted Red beets, White turnips, and Green brussel sprouts, my mom wanted to be festive with the colors!

Another great picture of the sprouts

Lobster tail was AMAZING! We also had filet of beef (but I don't eat beef)

Mixed green salad with cranberries and feta

Ceasar salad

I’m so bummed I didn’t get a picture of the meat or the potatoes. They were seriously amazing! Smashed with herbed goat cheese! Try it sometime! I don’t even like mashed potatoes, but my mom smashed them with the skins and the goat cheese was a great touch!

We had LOTS of candy and cookies sitting around as well and two pies for dessert (butterscotch, and pecan pumpkin pie). If anyone can say anything about my family it’s we know how to eat!

Later in the evening we all came back together for some dessert and presents and this guy showed up!

All in all it was a great day! Now off to enjoy some tea, the fire, and the falling snow! I hope you have safe travels!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

One thought on “Almost a White Christmas

Leave a Reply

