New Soup Recipe!

Hello all! I hope you are enjoying the post Christmas relaxation and preparing for the new year! I have been taking full advantage of being able to relax and just do whatever I feel like. I have a SUPER long list of recipes I want to make before I go back to school as well as when I return to school. I am definitely set on making some pumpkin butter! As soon as I got hooked on it, Trader Joe’s no longer has it on the shelf, so I am going to try and make my own! I have also been enjoying time with friends and family, I’m not home too much anymore so it is nice to catch up with people.

Here is a recipe for tomato soup which I started out trying to make from a lovely cook book I got for Christmas called ” The America’s Healthy Family Cookbook” , but before I knew it I was just doing my own thing and the soup isn’t a thing like the cream-less tomato soup I set out to make.

I really wanted tomato soup so I set out to make the cream-less tomato soup, as well as clean out the fridge a bit. My family had gotten some fresh mushrooms from my aunt for Christmas so I knew for sure I was going to be adding a few of those to the mix.

Yum!

I also encouraged my mom to save some of the beet greens from the beets we roasted on Christmas day, so I went about adding those as well. You could add spinach in these greens place and it would be just as delightful!

These are tasty!

First I chopped an onion, and some garlic and sauteed them in a pan with olive oil. I sauteed them until transparent. Then added some fat free half and half that my mom had left from christmas day. (I know this stuff is loaded with not so great fillers, but it need to be used, and in small amount it does a great job at making soups creamy without adding tons of calories and fat). The original recipe did not call for any cream, so this is where I started to do my own thing. Next came about 2 cups of chicken broth.

I used 2 cans of whole peeled tomatoes just like the recipe said and smashed them with a potato masher….<— way time consuming. I would have rather used diced canned tomatoes. I ended up using the 2 cans peeled whole tomatoes that I smashed as well as 2 more cans of diced tomatoes. Then came the spices….. I used Aleppo pepper (like red pepper flakes but less heat), basil, rosemary, oregano, and thyme. A small amount of sugar and salt and pepper were added to make the tomato flavor pop.

Not a necessary step! Just use canned diced tomatoes

Then I sliced mushrooms and then beet greens which I just cut in strips. I made the mistake of adding these to the pan…. forgetting I later wanted to blend the tomatoes into the broth…… lets just say it was a messy process to recover from. I had to fish out all the big tomato chunks to puree then add then back in. LEAVE THESE OUT UNTIL YOU BLEND THE TOMATO MIXTURE!!!

I used an immersion blender (new Christmas gift that I LOVE!) in the pan to blend the tomato, onion, garlic, spice mixture. THEN add the beet greens and mushrooms! I let this sit for about 10 more min on the stove on low heat and seasoned until perfection!

YUM!

Here is the run down on ingredients! AND the right less messy way to make this soup.

Tomato Soup with Mushrooms and Greens

2  large cans whole peeled tomatoes (If you don’t want to mash them, just used 6 cans diced tomatoes)

2 regular sized cans diced tomatoes

1 medium onion, chopped

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 cups mushrooms, sliced

1 cup greens (beet or spinach)

2 cups chicken broth

1/4 – 1/2 cup fat free half and half (depends how creamy you like it)

1 1/2 tsp Aleppo pepper or red pepper flakes (or to taste)

1  1/2 tsp basil (or to taste)

a pinch of salt

black pepper to taste

1/2 tsp-1 tsp sugar

2 tsp Italian herb mix (rosemary, thyme, oregano) <– (or to taste)

Directions:

Over medium heat saute onion and garlic until transparent/ cooked through

Add half and half, and chicken broth

Added diced tomatoes ( or mash whole tomatoes and add them)

Season with Aleppo or red pepper flakes and add the remaining spices (basil, thyme, oregano) as well as sugar, salt, and pepper

Use immersion blender to blend together or place in small batches into a regular blender

Slice mushrooms and greens and saute in pan

Add to tomato mixture….ENJOY!

Variations:

The next day I had some for lunch and added some leftover crab dip….. AMAZING! You could also add regular crab or lobster pieces as well as chicken for a more protein packed soup. Brown or wild rice could be another great addition!

With added crab dip! SOOOO YUMMY!

I hope you all have a happy last day of 2010! I’m hanging out with the boyfriend and his family. It should be a nice, relaxing new years celebration. 2010 sure has gone fast, but its been a good year. A growing year really. I learned and grew up so much this year!

How was your 2010?

What are your New Years plans?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

One thought on “New Soup Recipe!

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread and Challenge « Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

