Fall-back meals

We all have fall-back meals….. you know the ones you make when you walk in from a long day, starving, and you just want a good meal. A good meal, that is warm, comforting and won’t leave you in the kitchen all night. Yep I made one of those tonight. First day of classes, over! It is always weird starting a new class schedule, because you get so used to your routine from the previous semester. So basically my eating was way off today and come 5:oo I was STARVING! I knew I needed to make a good meal, but my creative juices have been seriously lacking. That being said I made my fall-back meal. Salmon baked in the oven with tomatoes, onions, and feta cheese. Today I added lentils, because they are just so darn good and I wasn’t feeling any sort of starch (rice, pasta, etc).

First place the salmon in the baking dish. I used thawed, frozen wild salmon, which is pretty cheap for salmon and a college kid AND it doesn’t taste horrible either!

Salmon in baking dish

Then I sauteed some onions and garlic in olive oil.

Love the smell of onions and garlic

Then I added a layer of lentils

Yay Lentils!

Then I added the onion and garlic, canned diced tomatoes, and some feta cheese. All ready for the oven!

This bakes in the oven at 450 for about 10-15 min

Its warm, filling, nutritious, and sooo sooo good! I save the extra tomatoe-y stuff and eat it on its own the next day! YUM!!!

I had sprouts with mine ๐Ÿ™‚

So here is the run down:

Salmon Bake

1 can diced tomatoes

1/2 onion, chopped and sauteed

2 garlic cloves, minced and sauteed

2 pieces salmon, thawed

1/2 cup lentils (if you choose to add them)

A sprinkling of feta cheese (Parmesan cheese would be good as well, or no cheese works too)!

 

What is your fall-back meal?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

2 thoughts on “Fall-back meals

Leave a Reply

