Good food in = lots of energy out

That is right….. I’ve never been good at math, but this is one problem I can solve. I have been so tired since I came back to school and just couldn’t figure out why. Then I also realized just how energized I felt while I was home compared to when I was at school before break. Sure I ruled out the obvious factors; no I really didn’t sleep much more while I was at home, and I certainly worked out just as much if not more while I was home, Ahaha I was eating slightly different food combinations! Might I even say I was eating more food than I normally do, and I was certainly eating more nutrient packed foods (nuts, greek yogurt, pomegranates). The only thing that gets me is all the christmas cookies I was consuming (where do they fit into this equation)?! I guess I’m not complaining. Maybe that is just more energy consumed overall…..

While I never actually eat awfully by any means I was eating more of a variety while I was at home, and guess what I felt soooooo energized and healthy. I really love greek yogurt, avocado, pomegranates, and various other things you can often find in my parent’s fridge. However, I just never want to spend the money so I stick with regular yogurt, bananas, carrots, oranges, hummus, the usuals,– only branching out and buying a different item or two each week.

So after the sluggishness this week I’ve decided to make a few changes to my grocery list. I want that energy back!

This week I am changing a few things:

I bought greek yogurt instead of regular non-fat yogurt AND eating breakfast like I did at home

1/4 cup greek yogurt, 1 banana, spoonful of TJ's cranberry apple butter, and a sprinkle of Kashi GoLean Crunch

I am eating lots more nuts ( I was eating them on my cereal every morning at home)

Love these and the Butter Toffee ones!

I am aiming to eat more protein and healthy fats in general (that is the main trend I saw when I looked back over my eatings from home: lots of nuts, hummus, olives, and avocados)

Sandwich with Hummus/lentil spread, Chicken, lettuce, and red bellpepper and an Orange on the side!

Salad w/ hummus, lentils, carrots, cheese, red pepper, and balsamic vinegar

I definitely notice a difference in my energy level this week as opposed to this week. Yay protein and how food (nutrition) really can fix everything! I’ve realized this semester so far I have really been focusing on my whole body health and balancing it all out. My mind is clearer, I feel leaner and stronger, and I am in MUCH better spirits! I thank YOU bloggers for inspiring me to get out of food ruts, trying TONS of new foods, and fully put my nutrition knowledge to use!

Do you ever have these energy slumps?

Any ideas as to what I should be eating for more energy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

3 thoughts on “Good food in = lots of energy out

Leave a Reply

