Going with the flow

I could only wish that this is where I was right now…….. instead I am in the frozen tundra. Literally every sidewalk in town is a skating rink, and apparently the worst of the storm is still yet to come. I hope everyone is staying safe and warm!

My Tuesdays are usually pretty relaxed with only one class and short closing shift at work. I generally enjoy the mornings by sleeping in a having a long workout. However this morning I awoke to snow and ice….. no running today and given that no one was out plowing or shoveling yet I figured the 10 min walk to the gym probably wasn’t so safe either. First go with the flow decision of the day: I opted for another workout DVD. I feel as though these may be the trend for the next few days. Come 8am I completed 30 min kickboxing, 15min legs, and 15 min abs. I was bummed about missing my run, but glad I got some strength training in!

Breakfast: Plain greek yogurt, kashi golean, and blueberries

After breakfast I headed out the door to work…… this was my second go with the flow move of the day. I usually don’t work until 3:30 on Tuesdays, but agreed at the last minute to cover for someone. I worked until 1 then headed home for some lunch before my one class of the day. This past week at the grocery store I decided I was going to get a few different things than usual, so I opted for a few more veggies. I loved the salad I came up with!!

Romain lettuce, cherry tomatoes, baby carrots, red and yellow peppers, hummus, avocado, mozz cheese, pepper, and some balsamic vinegar.

I know some people have a hard time coming up with filling salads, but I notice that as long as you include enough variety, healthy fats, and protein you are good to go for hours! I also enjoyed some grapes and animal crackers with this salad, then was out the door to class and work once again.

I ended up being at work wayyyy longer than usual, go with the flow number three of the day…..  I am usually beat by the time I get home, but tonight I was perfectly content… minus the ice skating rink I had to endure on the way home. I decided it was better to just walk in the snow most of the way to prevent from falling. I made it allll the way home without falling, but when I made it to my boyfriend’s house I feel flat on my butt.

I was starving at this point… never do I go a whole day only eating two meals and no snacks!!!! I got a few crackers to give me a boost of energy to cook some dinner… yep I’m that bad….. Go with the flow number 4 of the day… Dinner.  Dinner was AMAZING! I’ve been wanting to make gnocchi for weeks and being as they only take 2- 3 min I was game!

I threw some veggies on the stove to stir fry and throw in the gnocchi with tomato sauce… I decided I wanted some protein so I threw some salmon in a pan as well.

Yellow pepper and broccoli

Salmon sprinkled with basil on the side

The final presentation was delicious!

I was super pleased with this quick easy and delicious dinner. It was super satisfying and filling too!

My 5th go with the flow decision of the day………………..by far the best

Turtle brownie and praline crunch frozen yogurt... YUM 🙂

Now due to my intense procrastination skills of last evening I have a TON of work to do… I’m crossing my fingers for a two hour delay tomorrow, because we all know our school will actually NEVER close….

How do you handle going with the flow?

I am usually awful at it… I am one of the craziest planners ever, and have been trying to loosen up a bit. So today was a good experience for me. 🙂

Also, Does anyone have a favorite vegan cookie recipe?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

3 thoughts on “Going with the flow

Leave a Reply

