The New Bean Dip

I set out to make my second recipe from The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Cookbook as part of my challenge to cook through this book.  The first recipe was soooo good, but really I needed a break from school work. I love cooking/baking breaks, they are the best! I’ve been planning to make this for dayyyys, and I finally got to it! All my free time has been spent outdoors, it has been BEAUTIFUL here! Anyone else enjoying the warm spring weather?

It decided to turn over night and snow/rain, so it was time to get my cooking on!

I wanted to make a dish a little more savory this time, so I set out to make the White Bean and Artichoke Dip. How great does that sound?!? Pretty awesome if you ask me. Needless to say once I got started I closed the cookbook and began to substitute in a billion different things…. I do my own thing, what can I say. But it turned out fabulous, so go make it, NOW. I guarantee you have most of the ingredients, or at least the ingredients I used.

The New Bean Dip

1 can (15ounces) cannellini beans, rinsed

1 1/2 TB lemon juice

2-3 small garlic cloves, minced (depends on what you like)

1/4 cup Onion, minced, and sauteed lightly in olive oil

Sprinkling of Aleppo pepper or cayenne pepper

LOTS of basil, oregano, and thyme (the original called for 1TB  fresh parsley, but I subbed this instead)

6oz of frozen artichokes, thawed, excess water squeezed out

handful of frozen spinach, thawed, excess water squeezed out

Directions:

Thaw spinach and artichokes, I was impatient and just did it in the microwave. Slice onion, mince garlic, and rinse beans.

Saute onions

Add beans, onions, garlic, lemon juice, and seasonings to a blender or food processor.

Puree until desired texture

Squeeze water from spinach and artichokes and chop finely

Remove bean puree from blender, mix in artichokes and spinach

Season to taste

Simple as that!

I was afraid to add the spinach and artichokes, because the white beans and seasonings were sooooooo good. But they were a nice touch 🙂

This may just be my substitute for hummus for the next week, it’s that good. I could eat with a spoon, but I didn’t… I ate it with pita chips and it was EVEN BETTER!

What was the last creation you made in the kitchen?

This dip and a super yummy pasta dish for dinner last night!

5 thoughts on “The New Bean Dip

Leave a Reply

