Tiramisu

It has been a whirl wind of a weekend in the kitchen, but in a good way! I’ve basically been whipping up goodness since Friday afternoon! I love weekends like this, when there is homework to start but nothing that is pressing and I can do the things I love like cook and bake with the ones that I love!

I have basically been promising Andrew for a year or more that I will ‘one day’ make him Tiramisu. It is one of those desserts I have never cared for but he loves it, in fact it is his all time favorite. I caved this weekend.

I always thought it was super hard to make for some reason, but when I got to searching there were some easier ones to make as well as some really hard ones that involved a double boiler, etc to make the custard. I settled on one in the middle from Giada De Laurentiis and for someone who doesn’t like Tiramisu I have to say it’s pretty good and certainly beautiful!

The fixings

I put him in charge of making the espresso

I put Andrew in charge of the espresso, he just had to jump in the picture 😉

I got to work on making the cream!

Separating the eggs

Beating them all together

Mixing in the mascarpone cheese

AND you've got creamy goodness!

Then began the fun part of stacking and spreading and layering it all together.

Dip the lady fingers in the espresso and rum mixture

Layer lady fingers then cream

Then chocolate shavings

AND more lady fingers!

Then set in the fridge to chill

Tiramisu

Adapted from Giada De Laurentiis

6 egg yolks

3 TBS sugar

16 oz Mascarpone Cheese

1 1/2 cups espresso, cooled

2 tsp dark rum

24 lady fingers

Bittersweet chocolate bar for the shavings on top (we used Godiva 75% dark)

Directions:

In a large bowl whisk together egg yolks and sugar with an electric mixer. When light and fluffy (about 5 min) stop and add in the mascarpone cheese. Beat until smooth and blended. We added  a TB of espresso to the cream mixture as well while beating.

In a shallow dish mix the rest of the espresso and the rum. Dip each lady finger in the mixture, not more than 5 seconds or they will fall apart. Place the soaked lady fingers in the bottom of a 8 in square baking dish. Line the whole bottom with lady fingers and spread 1/2 the cream on top. Sprinkle desired amount of chocolate shavings on top as well.

Start another layer of lady fingers and then top with cream and lady fingers.

Cover and chill for 2 hours or more. ENJOY!

What did you bake this weekend?

Tiramisu

Cadbury Creme egg stuffed cupcakes (that recipe is to come)

Chocolate chip cookies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

6 thoughts on “Tiramisu

  1. Wow that looks incredible! I’ve never bothered to make tiramisu because I always thought it was too time consuming but this looks amazing 😀

  2. I’ve never had tiramisu but have always wanted to try it! It’s just that whenever I get a hankering for some, I’m usually with my parents..and since my mom’s not a fan of coffee, it gets turned down. Guess I’ll just have to make a whole pan for myself while I’m at school! 😉

  3. Pingback: Rome: Round 2, Part 2 | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

