Tex Mex Rice

We eat a lot of Mexican inspired food around here. When I’m not serving a Mediterranean dish you better believe there is salsa, guac, or beans in it. I’m a big fan of tacos, quesadillas, and don’t even get me started on nachos or adobo spice! Last nights meal was inspired by a recipe I saw in America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook for Tex Mex rice, except I didn’t follow their recipe at all…. I just went with what I had and what was easy.

We didn’t get to making dinner until almost 6:30, which considering my stomach starts to growl around 5 o’clock on the dot nearly everyday I wanted something fast! Andrew and I had a pretty relaxing day of church, watching TV, napping, and grocery shopping. Come late afternoon we were too occupied baking whole wheat chocolate chip cookies and bread before we got to dinner. then there was the never ending what do you want for dinner? I don’t care. After going back and forth I decided on the Tex Mex rice. I don’t like rice or eat it often, but this dish was super yummy, cheap, and fast!

First cut up your onion and bell pepper

 

Saute the onion, bell pepper, and canned corn in a pan with a tiny bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Cook up some brown rice, I like the quick cooking kind, because I’m impatient when it comes to cooking rice.

Select your favorite taco seasoning…. I’m loving Arizona Dreaming from Pensey’s Spices!

Cut the chicken breasts in to strips and and season with taco seasoning, then cook them.

 

 

Select a salsa of your preferred ‘hotness’ and stir into the rice when it is finished cooking. Then add in the vegetables, some red pepper flakes, and top off with the chicken!

 

Tex Mex Rice

Makes 3ish servings

2 chicken breasts

1 cup brown rice

1 cup water

3/4 can of corn

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/4 large onion, cubed (larger than diced)

4 TBS salsa

taco seasoning

Red pepper flakes

 

Directions:

Cut up onion and bell pepper and place skillet with a splash of olive oil and corn. Cook until fragrant, about 5 min. Mean while cook rice according to box. Slice chicken and cook until cooked through. I added the vegetables on top of the rice once they were done cooking and then cooked the chicken in the same pan I used the veggies for.  Add a few TBS of salsa to the rice mixture, you could also add black beans if you have them. Add some red pepper flakes to turn up the heat (I used mild salsa so it wasn’t very spicy). And ENJOY!

 

 

I finished the evening off with a pretty awesome snack! It sounds soo soo weird but I promise it is awesome and totally satisfies any salty sweet combo cravings you were having….. popcorn with cinnamon toast crunch and/or cinnamon cheerios!

 

 

What random snack have you tried recently?

The above snack was the most recent and delicious!

5 thoughts on “Tex Mex Rice

  1. I went to Penzy’s when I was visiting my sister in IL. That place is SO cool. I loved smelling all the spices and herbs and dreaming about everything I would make with them.
    I don’t remember the Arizona Dreaming though. I’ll have to seek it out next time I go there!

Leave a Reply

