Cadbury Creme Egg stuffed Cupcakes

 

I love Cadbury Creme Eggs…. I just had to get that off my chest. Every year since I can remember my Gramma would give me one for Easter, and it has always been my favorite Easter treat!

This year I decided to have a little fun with them, and bake my favorite Easter treat into a cupcake! I don’t even remember where I came up with the idea, but one mention to my roommate and she was sold. We set a date, it even made it in to our planners that is how big of a deal these cupcakes are. SO get your appointment books ready is what I’m really trying to say, because you’ll want to pencil these in to your spring baking line-up!

 

The goods!

The mix I bought made 24 cupcakes, so we decided to do 12 with Cadbury creme eggs, and 12 with Cadbury caramel eggs. Best. Decision. Ever.

 

 

 

 

I got my game face on (if that’s what you want to call it), while she tried to act a calm, cool, and collected.

 

We mixed, mixed, mixed and then had to decide just how we were going to tell the caramel from the creme once we baked them….. don’t worry we had a solution. Halloween papers for the caramel, because caramel is fallish. And flowers for the creme, because creme is springy!

 

We decided to make some pretty big fluffy cupcakes, because they hold more icing and that is the most important part!

 

 

We let them cool and then used an icing tip to remove a bit of the center, in order to shove the Cadbury egg into the middle. Then placed the cake right back on top…

 

 

It's like nothing happened πŸ™‚

Then top with your favorite chocolate icing…. I used the Five-Minute LowFat Chocolate Frosting from The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook in order to continue with my challenge! Which I made the night before, so we could dig in as soon as they were cooled!

 

 

 

Inside the caramel

 

 

Cadbruy Creme Egg Stuffed Cupcakes

1 Box Devil’s Food Cake Mix

2-12packs of mini cadbury eggs

 

Directions:

Prepare cupcakes according to package

When slightly cooled, remove a small bit of the top middle (I used an icing tip) and push an egg down to the center, and re-assemble. It’s ok if they look messy, there will be icing on top anyway! Keep refrigerated.

 

Five Minute LowFat Chocolate Frosting

Adapted from The America’s Test Kitchen Healthy Family Cookbook

3 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

1/2 cup dutch-process cocoa

7 TBS low fat milk (I used skim)

1 ounce bittersweet chocolate, melted (chocolate chips work great!)

1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

Mix the sugar and cocoa powder together with a whisk. Add the milk, butter, chocolate, and vanilla beat with a mixer until smooth. Keep refrigerated and top cupcakes as you eat them.

 

I recommend heating them in the microwave for 10 seconds before topping with icing and consuming, it makes for a melty egg in the center πŸ™‚

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cadbury Creme Egg stuffed Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

