Mushroom, Spinach, and Feta Risotto

School is almost out!!! I’ve calculated that I have 5 more days of classes, 2 assignments, and 3 finals until I’m running head on into SUMMER BREAK!! That being said I am currently trying to use up the things I have been stock piling in my cupboards for the last year or two…. aka pastas, rices, and other things that I always like to have on hand, but never really eat that often. I found a half opened bag of risotto this past weekend, and given that I had an almost finished bottle of white wine in the fridge I knew I had to make some!

First of all, when don’t these three ingredients taste amazing!

I started out sauteing some onions and mushrooms

added little of this

Favorite wine right now, sooo good!

then added some chicken broth and water, a little at a time

And then let it simmer, and I stirred, stirred, stirred….. I think I got my strength workout for the day

So much so that I had to take time for a mid cooking snack ๐Ÿ™‚

Love almonds!

And before I knew it, it was lunch time and my risotto was done just in time!

You better believe I ate this for lunch and dinner the day that I made it. The risotto paired perfectly with Sweet Italian sausage and Italian bread baked in the oven with Greek seasoning and olive oil! Perfect Italian meal, if I do say so myself!

Mushroom, Spinach, and Feta Risotto

1 tsp olive oil

1 onion, diced

1 container slice mushrooms ofย  choice

1 cup arbario rice

1 cup white wine

4 cups chicken broth

3 cups water

1 tsp basil

1 tsp rosemary

Salt and Pepper to taste

3/4 cup frozen spinach (or your could use fresh)

1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large pot, with onions and mushrooms. Meanwhile combine water and chicken broth in a sauce pot and heat on low. Saute until onions are translucent, then add the rice and saute until translucent. Add wine and cook until the liquid is cooked off, then add (chicken/water), 2 cups at a time. Stir mixture often while cooking. Continue adding liquid and cooking off while stirring, until the liquid is almost gone, then add spinach, feta, and spices. Stir until combined and enjoy!

What is your favorite combination?

Feta, spinach, and tomatoes OR Hummus and balsamic!


5 thoughts on “Mushroom, Spinach, and Feta Risotto

  1. I’m too nervous to try risotto!! It takes sooo much work, and I’m on of those who likes easy and quick meals. But it sounds incredible ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m all about egg, spinach and hummus. That’s my go to meal, either wrapped into a tortilla or on some bread as a sandwhich!!

Leave a Reply

