Secret ingredients

I am ready for all this gloomy weather to be done with. I need me some sunshine! We have had a few warm days here and there but this past Friday it was 32 and sleeting. This is after a day of sun and 72…

beautiful sunset after a warm spring day!

Now that you have the weather report for the northeast, we can move on.

I much prefer ‘summer’ foods to ‘winter’ foods… well when we get right down to it I just prefer summer to winter.

Summer food are so much brighter and prettier!

I love me lots of sunshine,ย  warm weather, sandals, sundresses, sweaty runs, birds chirping, grilling outdoors, the whole nine yards….. why didn’t I choose to go to school in the south again?

Summer makes for a prettier background too ๐Ÿ™‚

Well this past week I had, had enough of this rainy cold weather! I thought just maybe if I made a summery dinner I would feel warmer and maybe just maybe the weather would warm up, for good.Well I think it worked….. It’s been pretty darn nice all weekend long! Want to know the secret ingredients?!?!?

Open-faced Buffalo Burgers w/ mushrooms and cheese with a side of garden pasta salad!

It started with some veggie pasta

This stuff is tasty!

Lots ofย  veggies

I added the two together with a lovely sauce from this book

I’ve been meaning to make some dressing from this book for awhile there are some great recipes!

I decided on a light vinaigrette, it was quite tasty!

I made this in the afternoon, so that it could chill and ‘marinate’ before dinner….

I may have had a bowl or two for lunch ๐Ÿ˜‰

It was great with some fresh mozzarella chopped up and mixed in!

When dinner time rolled around I got to work on some mushrooms

Then the buffalo burgers! I love buffalo meat, but it is so hard to come by! My mom snagged these for me at a farmers market in Washington D.C. Thanks mom!!!!

The final dinner was delicious!

Garden Pasta Salad

1/2 box tricolor pasta

handful cherry tomatoes, quartered

5 baby carrots, diced

handful green beans, trimmed and halved

1/4 cup white beans

2 garlic cloves

Basil

Oregano

Vinaigrette

Adapted from: Cookery Classics- Cooper Wellness Program

2 TB olive oil

4 TB red wine vinegar

1 TB dijon mustard

1-2 TB lemon juice

1 tsp sugar

Black pepper

Salt

Directions:

Cook pasta according to directions on box

Chop veggies and lightly saute in olive oil, add garlic and saute until fragrant

Prepare dressing in a separate bowl, whisk ingredients together

Drain pasta, add veggies, add dressing, and mix in herbs

Make this dinner soon, and hopefully warm weather will be on its way soon!!!

What foods remind you of summer?

Fresh fruits and veggies

Light vinaigrettes

Anything grilled

4 thoughts on “Secret ingredients

  1. I’m totally a summer food girl. It’s been rainy and cold at my university, and I’ve been asking myself why I didn’t choose to go to a warmer climate, too! haha.

  2. Pingback: Fruity Turkey Tacos | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

