Graduation Weekend Recap

Hello all from Roma!

I made it here safely yesterday morning! I don’t have too many pics or news for you yet, but a full run down will come soon!

I had an AMAZING weekend with my family in Washington D.C. before I left the states, so here is the recap!

My parents and I left home Friday morning, to attend a ceremony for the honors students at American University ( my brother is graduating with honors)

Program

Me and Momma waiting for it to start

The honors man himself!

Next came the Graduate Cocktail party, which was a lot of fun!

Chilling at the cocktail party

Me and Dad

Fam and Maria (Dan's GF)

Saturday the EU embassies were having open houses, and since we were staying on Embassy row it was the perfect activity!

Sweet re-usable bag from the British embassy

Food offerings

Being a tourist, w/o actually being in England!

We hit up the Denmark Embassy as well

Me and the bro

And the Estonia Embassy

We decided to call it day after these ones, because the lines were getting long and we had to head over the AU for my brother’s graduation!!!!!

Graduating

Me and the bro!

Family picture!

Then came dinner at one of my favorite restaurants in DC! Nora uses all in season and organic produce and the food delicious! Such a quaint little spot as well 🙂

My dad had Nora make special menus for the bro's graduation!

We all started with Bellini's! Champagne and Meyer lemons

I started with a spring greens salad with gorgonzola cheese, and almonds!

Main course was maple duck breast with risotto, beets, and green beans! YUM!

Dessert is a must! Gingered plum crisp with vanilla ice cream!

Such a lovely two days, but the weekend wasn’t over yet! I was running around the hotel packing and repacking a million times for Roma! Sunday morning before I left we all went out to a Mother’s Day brunch and to the farmer’s market in Dupont circle!

We really like buffalo!

Beautiful rubarb!

One last photo of me and the bro!

It was a beautiful weekend! And it was so great to have so much family time, it’s been awhile! I had a good flight to Rome and have been out exploring a lot! My classes seem really interesting, but this whole foreign country thing and city living thing is so new and strange to me. It is going to take some getting used to, but I think know it is going to be an awesome time I will never forget! The other girls are lots of fun too! I will keep you updated once I get settled in to my new city!

Ciao!

4 thoughts on “Graduation Weekend Recap

  1. Congrats to your brother for graduating with honors. What a fabulous weekend in DC, that plum crisp looks amazing. Love the pic of you and your brother, I see the resemblance 😉

Leave a Reply

