Roma!

Boungiorno!!

This is my first post from Roma! It has been a crazy past few days flying here, finding our way around, starting classes, etc. I am taking three classes while I am here in Italy. My classes are  class Architecture of Rome, International Nutrition, and a Mediterranean diet class.  There are 17 of us in the nutrition program. This city is crazy confusing, as are all cities to me, but this one seems particularly confusing. It will take some time to get used to. I am truly a country girl at heart and this trip has solidified that. Which is great, because we will be traveling to the countryside as well and  Italy’s countryside is gorgeous!

I haven’t found Rome to be very runner friendly either, there are always people out, the walks are crowded, and the drivers are nuts so you have to be very careful. With that being said I am walking so very much here and going up a lot of stairs so I am for sure getting my exercise in!

This is the courtyard of our apartment

And the view from out apartment

The view from our classroom is The Panteon, how cool is that?!

The first day or so we were here I was pretty dehydrated and starving, because I was totally out of my routine and I didn’t know where anything was. I had to buy water wherever I was and I am just not used to buying bottled water or my meals. We found the grocery store the second day we were here and stocked up on some cereal, yogurt, and fruit. But even better, we found the neighborhood market (there are many more in the city) on wednesday. Best. Produce. Ever. They barely spoke english at the market, but they were such sweet people. An old man cut up a blood orange from his stand for us to try. It was delicious. I only bought tomatoes this time (SOOO red), since I had gotten some produce at the grocery when I went, I was desperate!

Market in Trastevere

Delicious fruit!

Veggies! I've got to get some artichokes!

The first night we were there we got some pizza, because we were exhausted and that is about the only think you can get on the go.

Kind of bummed... it wasn't any different than American Pizza, but still good!

The second night we had gone to the grocery, so I made something quick because I was still pretty jet lagged and STARVING!

Broccoli, carrots, tomatoes, and Totellini with basil and balsamic dressing

But last night I truly got the hang of things and made a DELICIOUS dinner with the fresh tomatoes and mozzarella I got at the market! This dinner made me so happy and finally satisfied!

1 whole grain hard roll split in two and toasted: topped with tomatoes, mozzarella, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and basil/oregano with a salad on the side!

For our architecture class we go on site visits, yesterday we went to the Colosseum which was absolutely amazing! To stand there and think about everything that happened there was crazy awesome!!!

Today we headed over to Tivoli to the villa of Adriana which was an absolutely gorgeous property! I highly recommend checking it out if you ever come to Rome!

His retreat spot... so beautiful

Beautiful ruins and architecture!

Well after two long days in the hot sun I am beat! Off to make some dinner, which will probably be the same thing as last night (mozzarella, cheese, toast, and salad). Then to relax for the evening/ catching up on everyone’s blogs! There has been a lot to take in this week!

Tomorrow I am headed to the market for some more produce (I’ve been eating it like its my job) and then out for some shopping as well as sight seeing!

Ciao!

What is your favorite thing about exploring a new city?

6 thoughts on “Roma!

  1. Awesome!! I’m jealous, I’ll admit. I’ve always wanted to go there! My boyfriend’s been there before for the Navy and I think we’re going to try to go in a few summers together. *fingers crossed* 🙂 Have a wonderful day!!

  2. That mozzarella and tomato combo is one of my favorites – as you know – and the ones that you show are some of the best-looking ones that I ever seen. Must have tasted great!

  3. That is too cool that you are there for study! It’s so gorgeous. And yes – the walkability certainly adds up to ample exercise I’m sure.

    I’m surprised the pizza wasn’t too great you tried. All the pizza I had in Italy was amazing and so different than what I find here.

  4. I loved going to Rome, everything is just memorizing! The Colosseum was one of the most memorable sights of my life. And I actually loved Italian pizza, thought it was must better than the pizza here 🙂

  5. Pingback: First weekend in Rome | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

