Food is an art and I have the finest materials

Tortellini with roasted eggplant and broccoli

I’m pretty sure I’ve eaten tomatoes for dinner every single night since I got to Italy. They are seriously amazing here. And I am definitely getting my 5 a day, I cannot stop eating fruits and veggies! They are delicious here and the market is great! I also finally found some greek yogurt, so I can have my usual breakfast and get some protein in me! Today we went on a field trip to FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization)

My day started pretty early and with a delicious bowl of strawberries, greek yogurt, and a banana.

Next we all headed out to the FAO headquarters which was just a few blocks from the apartment. It is a really cool organization that is part of the UN and we primarily were there for the nutrition aspect of it which is trying to wipe out world hunger and poverty. We sat through various presentations on food quality control and sustainable agriculture before it was time to break for coffee! I had my first Italian cappuccino!

Roof top cappuccino

Then it was back to some more presentations on world hunger and nutrition. Which were very interesting but my belly was starting to grumble signaling it was time for lunch. We headed up to the rooftop cafeteria and I finally got some meat on this trip! I haven’t had any meat since I’ve been in Italy and my body has been craving it so bad, but I haven’t had much opportunity to buy it. Plus the produce and bread and cheese is delicious, so I decided that when the opportunity arose to I would get meat, but not go out of my way to get it while I’m here.  Anyway…… I had chicken with veggies and an apple for lunch then headed out to the rooftop terrace! You can see all of Rome, it is a great view!!

And it was back to more presentations…… This time it was about a campaign called 1 billion hungry. Check it out here. It has barely reached the States but they are trying to make it world wide. It sounds like a great thing to get involved with!

Now that I have talked about world hunger, it is time to show you some of the fabulous eats I have had in the last few days, I am certainly not going hungry. Sorry guys, bad transition, but it is what was on my mind.

I have really enjoyed cooking here, yes I wish I had some of my appliances from home and some flour and sugar and other ‘necessary ingredients’ to bake with. But the whole food culture is great here! The whole attitude of food is to sit down and enjoy it with friends or family, not to rush through lunch because you only have a few minutes.  People really value the quality of their food and the quality time with those they share their meals with. It is a strange society how it is very slow paced, but at the same time it has already taught me a lot. It is ok not to plan things, it is ok to go with the flow, a lesson I really needed to learn! I’ve even gotten used to eating late dinners, thats coming from a girl who is usually starving everyday at 5! So here is a peak into my dinners, and a few new things I have found!

Salads at nearly every meal! Roasted eggplant is my new fav!

Bread toasted with olive oil, fig balsamic vinegar

topped with the best tomatoes ever!

I'm in love with flavored balsamic, this one is fig!

I'm also obsessed with this peach jam!

Also, go buy yourself a jar of nutella and dip oranges in it. AMAZING!!!!!!!!

That is all I have for today!

What is your latest weird food craving?

Nutella and oranges

5 thoughts on “Food is an art and I have the finest materials

  1. Awesome pictures on the roof of FAO and cool to learn about their mission. The tomato pictures are making me hungry.

  2. Loving all the eats! The cappuccino especially looks wonderful.
    I also wanted to say I really appreciated your sweet comment on my blog! And you are SO right about studying abroad- I think I’ve been discounting how much I walk around here!

  3. Looks like you are having a great time! I know what you mean about everything being at a slower pace. It took a while for my husband and I to get used to “Italy time” while we were back packing over there. Each meal is an event and you are lucky to be finished with a meal in under two hours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

