Fitness update

As of late my blog has been filled with my happenings around Rome, and there have been a lot of happenings.  But there have been several other thoughts and things going on in my life in general  that I wanted to share with you! I’m going on 3 posts in less than 24 hours, I’m pretty darn impressed with myself 🙂

 

I haven’t done any racing since I started my blog, or really for several years. I ran cross country and track in High school, and since I’ve been at college I’ve run about 1-2  5k per year. I have really wanted to enjoy running and fitness with no pressure to meet a certain time, or because I ‘think’ I ate too much (which has been an unhealthy behavior in the past). But rather to run  because it makes me feel good, it makes me appreciate what my body can do for me, it clears my head, and it is something I absolutely love doing. Now that I have had several years of running because I want to and not because I have to, I’ve decided it is time to take on a challenge or two…..

This week I registered for my second 1/2 marathon!!! I ran the Disney World 1/2 marathon in 2007 and have had thoughts of running another, so this week I decided now was the time! I registered for the Hershey 1/2 marathon in October. What better place to run, than chocolate world!?

Not only did I register for my second 1/2 marathon, but this week I decided to go for the big one! I registered for my very first MARATHON! It is in my home town, and they are having their very first marathon!!! It is all on trails which will be AWESOME! I’m not going to lie I am a bit terrified for the training ahead, but so incredibly excited at the same time!!! Running a marathon is something I have always wanted to do, and why not now!? I am probably in the best shape of my life and will have a fair amount of free time to train during my last semester.  Any tips for marathon running and or training will be greatly appreciated in the coming months!!!!!!!

 

Sorry for the recycled photo, but food pictures as well as proper fuel are a bit scarce due to my living conditions at the moment. My point is that with all this training I am really going to need to focus on my eating habits. Since arriving in Rome I have had very little access to protein as well as the foods I am used to, and my body is suffering. I am very much looking forward to LOTS of protein (especially Peanut butter!) when I return home. This lag in my diet has made me really look at my eating habits and realize the connection between what you put in your body and how you perform. Obviously from being a runner I’ve known this for years, but I’ve never really thought it out and in the past have been really bad about listening to my body and giving it what it needs (ie. unhealthy exercising habits). So what I’m saying is that I am first hand experiencing that food =fuel. Especially when training!

 

I want to make it known I have no problem with how I eat now. I generally eat what I want, when I want. I am very in tune with my body and believe that desserts are a necessary part of everyday and there are NO bad foods! But what has sparked this whole realization is that I know come marathon training time I am going to have to eat a lot more than I do as well as make sure I am getting proper amounts of protein, carbs, and fats in order to perform at my best. I am not running this marathon for a time, but rather to finish and for the experience along the way. I think this is going to be a fabulous learning experience and wonderful way to expand and continue my overall goal of total body wellness. I hope you all will join me and support me along the way!

 

I plan on blogging a ton more about proper fueling and training when I return home, but until then you get to hear all about my culinary and traveling adventures in Italy!

 

What tips do you have for marathon running?

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

One thought on “Fitness update

  1. Good luck with your marathon training. I just started training this week for marathon #3. My advice? find a solid plan that you know you can follow and get a few 20-22milers in before the big day.

Leave a Reply

