Another weekend in Rome

Parents and I at the Vatican

 

My parents returned to Rome this weekend after traveling all around Italy this week! It was so nice to have them back! This weekend wasn’t as jam packed as last (you can read part 1 & part 2). However, there were some awesome awesome meals and quality time with the parents!!

 

We started out Friday at the famous market in Campo de Fiori

Lemoncello

 

Pasta

 

 

dried tomatoes

 

Then headed to the Jewish Ghetto for some coffee and lunch

 

Caprese salad

 

Rice balls... these were delicious!

 

Best place for coffee, in my opinion

 

I enjoyed a cafe machiato'

 

The rest of the day allowed for some walking around and seeing a few sights, before I had to call it quits and head to a get together with my class. The early evening consisted of some wine and chocolate tasting as well as discussion on our next class that starts this week. We will be traveling to Pompei, Paestum, Florence, Modena, and a few other small towns in the next week trying and talking about the various cuisines of Italy. Needless to say I am pumped! It is going to be a wonderful week!

 

After the get together, I headed over to my parents hotel to meet them for a late dinner. We were dining well tonight at a restaurant called Mirabelle. It is a rooftop restaurant at a hotel with outstanding food and wine! A dinner I had been looking forward to all week long!

 

Th view

 

The company

 

Dinner started with delicious small bites

 

Bite size pizzas and quiches

 

And great bread!

 

I started with the Lobster panzanella salad and some champange 🙂

 

Duck breast with orange and apple sauce, great change from typical Italian fare

 

Best Dessert I've ever eaten! Crispy pastry with cream and fresh berries!

 

Lots of good wine as well 🙂

 

The next day I headed out for a quick 3 miler in a park and ended at my parents hotel for some breakfast and to get ready for the day. We were headed to the Vatican for a guided tour 🙂

Beautiful pool I wanted to jump in after my run

 

St. Peters

 

Inside St. Peters

We ended the day and their trip with a wonderful dinner and some after dinner drinks!

 

Absolutely amazing restuarant go here if you come to Rome!

 

The famous Harry's Bar for some after dinner drinks!

 

It was wonderful to spend time with my parents in Rome, and I was sad to see them go. However this week of travel will be absolutely amazing! The once we get back we are only here for 1 1/2 more weeks. The time here has certainly been quick! I will be sure to update as much as possible this week on our travels and eats, but I am not sure how much internet access I will have.

 

Have a wonderful and blessed Sunday!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

2 thoughts on “Another weekend in Rome

Leave a Reply

