Picture Heavy Travels

Welp! I’m finally back from traveling around Italy for a week! It was an incredible experience! Northern Italy is absolutely breath taking, I love it, I want to go back sometime in the future! You should plan your trip NOW!

Now that our travels are over, I only have one more week left in Rome until I am state-side again! Has it really been 6 weeks already?! I have to say though, as much as I have enjoyed my time here I am ready to head home. I miss my family, my friends, the boy, and the abundance ofΒ  ‘conveniences’ in America. Take public restrooms for example. O and my beloved peanut butter, chocolate chip cookies, and various other food stuffs I have had to live without while drooling over everyone elses blog photos.

But part of living in another country is experiencing their culture and I have done just that! Especially in the past week with all of my travels. I feel the easiest way is to break down the highlights in photos, because lets be real you don’t want to see all 400 photos I have taken in the past week of every mountain, meal, beach, and tasting that came across my path.

We started down South in the beginning of the week:

The volcanic ash town of Pompeii was our first stop

We moved on to Paestum, for some beach time and relaxation

Then headed to a mozzarella cheese factory, to see how it is made

We watched them braid it

and then we got to taste it! The mozzarella was good, but the ricotta was the best I've ever had. I wanted to buy a ton a cook with it, so badly!

We also go to watch them smoke mozzarella and then enjoy it moments after πŸ™‚

Our next journey landed us back in Rome for a cooking class with an Italian-American woman. It was a whole day affair, and lots of fun with lots of great food!

Caprese salad

Penne w/ tomatoes and zucchini

Linguine with basil, tomato sauce, and tuna

Chicken

Panna cotta with berries

The next morning we headed North:

First stop Pienza:

It was the cutest town!

Lots of foodie shops πŸ™‚

Then we headed to a near by farm and did a tasting

Wild boar sausage, this stuff is delicious!

Unsalted tuscan bread is much preferred to traditional bread with salt

Wine was always in abundance on this trip!

 

We stayed at an old monastery in the Tuscan hills

 

I ate the most delicious chickpea and tomato soup, you can look for a replica of this when I return home!

 

I discovered my love for panzanella salad, this seems like it may be a summer staple πŸ™‚

 

Next we headed to Florence!

 

 

 

Delicious ' poor mans soup' it has stale bread, beans, spinach, celery, and onion in it!

 

Tomato version

 

Next we headed to Parma and Modena to see parmesan cheese be made and to see a place where they make original balsamic vinegar

 

We sampled some cheese, that was the highlight of those two days πŸ™‚

 

Then we parted ways with out professors and headed to Cinque Terre and Venice on our own!

 

The hike in Cinque was awesome!

 

The views were BEAUTIFUL!

 

And the fresh seasfood, delicious!

 

Love Venice Alley ways!

 

So pretty!

 

And…. those are just the highlights! It was a wonderful trip!

 

There isn’t too much going on during my last week in Rome except finishing up some assignments and seeing some last minute things! I have LOTS to catch up on, on everyone elses blogs!

 

 

“There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work. ” – 1 Corinthians 12: 4-6

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

5 thoughts on “Picture Heavy Travels

  1. Pingback: Summer Loving | Fitnessnfoodiegirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

