Back in the Kitchen!

I’m back! 🙂

 

Wow this week has been non-stop it seems. I guess American life compared to Italian life will feel that way for awhile! What have I been up to??? Well I spent a few days with the fam, I moved back into my apartment at school, so I’ve been unpacking my life and enjoying time with friends over the last few days! It has been wonderful to catch up with people! O yea… and I started class, but it’s only one class so it should be ok!

I’ve also been able to get back in the kitchen and make a few things! I have to say I missed cooking and baking while I was in Italy! I did a bit of cooking, for dinners and such but I didn’t have all my usual kitchen things and ingredients. So I’ve been trying a few recipes I’ve wanted to try and enjoying the delicious flavors of summer!!!! And I’ll let the pictures and the rest of the post do the talking 🙂

 

Enjoying this White bean and Basil Hummus from TJ!

 

I seriously love this stuff, it is GREAT on everything. It probably doesn’t help that I LOVE basil more than any other herb!

See it's great on turkey sandwiches!

 

I made some of Jessica’s Strawberry Almond Granola! I’ve been wanting to make my own granola for awhile now and I happened to have the ingredients on hand for this one! I followed her recipe, but added some chia seeds instead of flax seeds and some Eziekel flax cereal with the oats for some crunch!

Check out her beautiful pictures for a better idea as to how delicious this is!

 

I’ve been enjoying some leftovers from when I was home. My mom always sends me back to school with some great stuff! This time the bundle included some blueberry pancakes! My favorite! 🙂

 

May favorite pancake toppings 🙂

 

I’ve also been hanging out with the boy, a lot! 8 weeks apart was a looong time! We’ve been enjoying the beautiful summer weather by hiking, biking, cooking out, and eating ice cream!

 

Sorry for the recycled photo from last summer, I didn't take my camera

 

I’ve also been taking care of the boy… he got his wisdom teeth out on Friday so I’ve been making a lot of mushy foods that he can eat!  Its been hot so I’ve been joining him in eating lots of water ice and ice cream! Last night I whipped up some of Jessica’s Watermelon soda floats!

We used chocolate ice cream too!

 

And last but not least, I made the most delicious post-workout recovery smoothie!!!!

 

Banana, Mocha, Peanut Butter

 

What you’ll need:

 

 

The peanut flour was an after thought, but def worth it!!!

A splash of milk (I used skim)

1 Banana

1  (5oz) Mocha yogurt ( I used TJ’s)

1 scoop Vanilla Protein powder

1 TB Peanut flour

Ice cubes

 

Blend and ENJOY!!!!

 

 

Such complete randomness!!!! I hope you all have a wonderful holiday weekend!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

4 thoughts on “Back in the Kitchen!

  1. Awwwe! It makes me smile that you got to spend time with your boy after being away for so long. 🙂 I get to see mine the day after tomorrow and we haven’t seen each other since February!! So excited!

Leave a Reply

