Cucumber Blueberry Salad

 

It sounds like an odd combination right? Well it kind of is, but trust me you won’t regret pairing them together! I saw this salad in the latest Wegman’s Menus and it intrigued me, so I obviously had to try it. Not to mention the cucumber that was quickly fading into a pile of mush in my crisper…..

 

Best. Decision. Ever! I couldn’t get enough of this salad this week, it was greatΒ  a top some greens with cherry tomatoes. Words cannot describe the deliciousness!!! It is also incredibly refreshing and has the perfect flavor combination, a little sweet, a little savory, a little fruit, a little veg, a little cheese, a bit of something for everyone!

Not to mention it is incredibly easy and fast to make!!!

Have I convinced you yet?

 

See, it's simple!

 

I changed it up from the original recipe quite a bit. It originally called or feta cheese, but I had goat cheese in the fridge, so I went with it. I think it was a nice change, but I’ll let you decide what cheese you want to use πŸ™‚

I also used a prepared red wine vinaigrette with a touch of white wine vinegar, but it calls for a prepared white wine vinaigrette. Again, I enjoyed the red wine vinaigrette, but you make the call!

 

Peel, slice, and seed the cucumbers

 

Cut them thinly in a half moon shape

 

Add the blueberries

Add the vinaigrette

Crumble the goat cheese

Serve at your next summer meal πŸ™‚

 

Cucumber Blueberry Salad

Adapted from Wegmans

2 Cucumbers, peeled, sliced, and seeded

1/2 pint of blueberries, washed and picked over

1/2 log of goat cheese

Red Wine Vinaigrette, until lightly covered

 

 

Looking for some other summer meals? This is what I’ve been chomping on lately πŸ™‚

Cedar plank grilled salmon and tuna with greens and the cucumber salad!

 

Goat Burgers with provolone cheese, fresh tomato, and melon!

Yep goat burgers… I was intrigued when I saw goat at the farmers market for sale, so Andrew and I decided to pick some up and try it! It is VERY lean, I don’t think there was a bit of grease on this burger! Not to mention I made the best burgers yet, that recipe is to come πŸ™‚

 

Have a good weekend everyone! I am off the a local winery with the boy and perhaps some hiking tomorrow! I love summer and all the time spent outdoors!

 

What is your favorite summer meal?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

5 thoughts on “Cucumber Blueberry Salad

  1. I hope this is the right blog I am responding to, my e-mail on my iPhone has been wacky tonight. Yes, I am from State College and ‘The Waffle Shop is the BEST. Have you been to PSU before?

Leave a Reply

