Summer Loving

I LOVE summer! Have I mentioned that before, or if I haven’t mentioned it I hope you have realized this! Not only do I love the warm sunny weather a million times more than the windy, cold weather but I LOVE summer food! I love fresh food and how much more fresh can you get than walking into the backyard and pulling a tomato off the vine or cutting off some basil for dinner? Not much.

 

A looooong time ago I told you all Andrew and I were planting a garden for the summer, well we just got our first tomato!!!!! Here is an update at what it is looking like these days:

 

We have sooo many tomatoes waiting for more sunshine 🙂

 

The corn is getting ready 🙂

 

The whole garden!

 

I don’t know about you, but during the summer I like to eat fresh and simple meals. I really find myself craving TONS of salads, burgers, and grilled anything! I’m not much for cooking a hot meal, not because I don’t AC because I do but because its hot out and a cool refreshing meal, just tastes good! Especially when you know where the food is coming from!

This past week I made a few delicious meals that SCREAM summer!

 

Deeeliicous!!!

 

This is my all time favorite summer meal! Salmon, strawberries, blueberries, feta, and sliced almonds on a bed of greens! With some toasted bread on the side of course! I cannot get enough bread lately, Italy totally wore off on me!!!!! Though you wouldn’t find this bread in Italy, its amazing though! Wegman’s Sourdough Seven grain!

 

Goat Burgers with provolone cheese, fresh tomato, and melon!

Last time I left you with this darling picture. These are goat burgers. Andrew and I found goat meat at the local farmers market and decided to give it a try. It wasn’t bad at all. I think what made it though was the burger recipe I used! I promised I would share, so here you go!

 

 

 

Goat Burgers (or other meat)

 

1 lb lean ground meat

1/2 medium onion, sauteed

1 handful fresh basil leaves, chopped

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

A tiny sprinkling of garlic powder

 

Directions: Mix all together in a bowl, form into patties, and grill!! I think it is the fresh basil that does it! Enjoy!

 

And although it is nearly the next weekend I will share with you a small re-cap from last weekend! The perfect summer weekend, if you ask me 🙂

 

Andrew and I went to the local winery for a tasting

 

And to check out the military museum!

 

This weekend we are hanging around town again and checking out the local arts festival, it’s HUGE! Perhaps some hiking will be on the agenda too!

 

What are your weekend plans?

What is your favorite summer meal?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

6 thoughts on “Summer Loving

  1. Pingback: Coconut Peanut Butter!! « Moves 'N Munchies

  2. Salads with fruit, nuts, and blue or goat cheese are my absolute favorites. Great combo! And I’m going to go on a wine tasting day tour this fall with my sister. I cannot wait! It seems like so much fun! Glad you had a great time. 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh that salmon salad looks so goooood! I will have to try that! 🙂 By the way I really like your blue dress- super cute! Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

