A full plate

Hello all!

A little celebration toast!

I hope you are all doing wonderfully! I am still on cloud 9 and super excited about my recent engagement, if you can’t tell by the picture above! I have been soooo incredible-y busy it isn’t even funny. I am sorry I have been neglecting to blog, but it has honestly been the last thing on my mind with school starting and wedding planning. I am really really enjoying this time though!

So with the start of school, job searching, marathon training, and wedding planning I have had a bit of a full plate. So much so that I was losing sleep, being super clumsy, and not really being the best person I can be at school, training, or life in general. I knew something had to go. Blogging was first, but I realize blogging is super fun for me and I love sharing my life and my cooking creations with you all! I have seriously missed it so much! So this weekend I decided to pull out of the Marathon. It is something I really want to do, but right now just isn’t that time in my life. Honestly, it has been a struggle to come to terms with pulling out of the Marathon. I know it is what is best for me, my health, and sanity but being the stubborn, driven individual that I am I kind of felt like a failure admitting I just couldn’t do it.  I played around with the idea of dropping out but immediately would talk myself out of it, it wasn’t until my dad and I were talking and he said “you know, you are taking on a lot right now, and you can run a marathon at another time.” Once the prospect of dropping the marathon was out there from another person I felt immediate relief and knew that it was the right choice to make.

Am I disappointed? Yes, but I know that there are other times in my life where training for a marathon makes a whole lot more sense and won’t stress me out and leave me exhausted because I have 20 million other things to do too.

What I’m trying to say is that it is A-okay to say no, to admit you have taken on too much. There is no sense in stretching yourself out just so you can be involved in a bunch of different things, when really you are only giving a small piece of effort to each, I am finding it is much better to focus on a few things in life, because than you can truly be the best that you have to offer.

Just a word of encouragement, you don’t have to ‘do it all’!

So with my crazy schedule I have been a super slacker at taking photos!! But here are a few photos from a recent trip home. This meal was made up of ALL local food, litereally everything that was served came within 5 miles of my house, how cool is that?!?! Seriously nothing tastes better than a fresh, farm picked meal! I feel so blessed to live in such an area that these things are available and so close to home!!!

Home-made salsa from home-grown tomatoes, peppers, and herbs!

Grilled veggies from the local CSA

Grilled Chicken breast from the local farm

Local Beef and corn!

Local berry sauce for the homemade angel food cake 🙂

Lets just say I have been eating really good lately 🙂 I promise to be back with more regular posts soon! I hope everyone on the east coast is staying dry, it has been a wash out here!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by fitnessnfoodiegirl. Bookmark the permalink.

About fitnessnfoodiegirl

I am a twenty something girl who has a passion for cooking and helping others eat well. Fruits and veggies are awesome, but we all need a cookie or two to keep us grounded! I love to workout, I'm just a girl and a new wife who loves living a healthy lifestyle and sharing it with others!

2 thoughts on “A full plate

  1. 1) You should switch to blogger so I can subscribe to you 🙂
    2) I love reading your blog. It makes me feel like I’m keeping up on your life 200 miles away.
    3) I respect you a ton for pulling out of marathon training. I know it’s something that you really want to do, and I’m sure it was a hard decision. Props to you.
    4) I know this goes against everything that America believes in for the moment, but even job hunting can be put on the back burner. Of course, don’t sell yourself short by any means, but you can wait until Andrew is settled. And when he is, you can work on house hunting, moving, and then job searching. Don’t stress out about it- savor your engagement 🙂

Leave a Reply

